Riva Capellari

[email protected]

Located in Brookside in the heart of Kansas City

Our Own Personal Energy Fields

Chakra, the Sanscrit word for “wheel”, is widely associated with holistic healing. Located in the central axis of our body, the chakras can be resonated or “toned” to align our body’s vibrational harmonies. Following is a brief description of each of the seven chakras and their locations.

The root chakra sits at the base of the spine and is associated with the organs of elimination and the skeletal and muscular systems of the back, pelvis and legs that ground us to its element, the earth. Our  nurturing center, it empowers us and is the home of our ancestors and personal history. Spine releasing yoga positions open this chakra.

Situated below the navel, the sacral chakra is in charge of our sexual energy, desires, emotions, creativity and effects the reproductive organs. Its element is water.

Positioned a little above the navel, the solar plexus chakra is the seat of our ego. It influences our sense of inner power, control, intuition, emotional strength and gut feelings. It also manages our digestive system. Its element is fire. One taps into this chakra through deep breathing and concentration exercises.

Not surprisingly, the heart chakra, centered in the chest area, manages the heart and lungs and connects us to compassion and love.  Representing the element of air, it is the home of our heartbreak, grief and fear. Through this chakra we open our hearts to ourselves and others.

The neck is the site of the throat chakra that  presides over communication and speech, i.e., our ears and vocal mechanism. It is the fount of our expression and listening. The bridge between heart and mind, it channels the energy that balances wisdom with com-passion. The source of our true voice, its element is ethera or space.

The brow or “third-eye” chakra in the forehead oversees our psychic abilities and helps us develop our perception of the world; our gate way to spiritual awareness. It is the command center for our mental activity and brain function. Light is its element.

Lastly, the crown chakra at the top of the head, controls all aspects of body and mind. It is through this chakra that one finds complete resonance with spiritual energy, full enlightenment – the dissolution of the ego. Not generally accessible to most, the road to this chakra is through creative visualization and meditation .

The 7 Secrets of Sound Healing. Goldman, Jonathan. Hay House, Inc. 2008

Your Body Speaks Your Mind. Shapiro, Debbie. Crossing Press. 1997.

The 7 Chakras Defined. Regula, Robyn.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>